MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE GENERAL

ASSEMBLY

TOWN OF OPHIR, CO 81426

TUESDAY SEPTEMBER 19TH, 2023 7:00 PM

OPHIR TOWN HALL 36 PORPHYRY ST.

Video Recording available here: https://vimeo.com/876442006

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT: Peter Israel, Wendy Israel, Gerry Oyama, Nicole Bowling, Dayna Baer, Mark Rosenthal, Shoshanna Pollack, Ken Page, Cindy Wyszynski, Michael Bowling, Daniel Forgrave, Elias Bahou, Miles Heiner, Sherri Leeper, Kim Wheels, Jen Rose, Janice Gerona, Heather Rosen, Ryan Ehlers, Teri Steinberg, Kurt Johnson, Nan Darkis, Sarah Callicott, Judah Kuper, Mason Osgood, Tyler Schultz, Natalie Fijalkowski, Travers Mitchell, Kendra Held, Eric Beerman, Allison Kingsley, Sean McNamara, Bob Kingsley, Cara Binkley, Lisa Rutledge, Kelton Wright, Marc Campbell, Tyler Simmons, Jacey DuPriest, Dave Chew, Mark Rikkers, Corrinne Platt, Matt Williamson, Larry Rosen, Allyn Hart, Kylie Mosher, David Callicott, Holly McCarthy, Johnny Gerona, Paul Emrick, Randy Barnes

CALL TO ORDER

Mason Osgood calls the meeting to order at 7:02pm

ADOPTION & SIGNATURE OF AUGUST MEETING MINUTES

Judah motions to approve and adopt, Mason seconds

All in Favor (Yay): Unanimous

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Judah motions to approve and adopt September agenda, Mason seconds

All in Favor (Yay): Unanimous

BUSINESS ITEMS:

4a. WORKSESSION - Presentation on microgrid project (Kuper, Wheels, Schuyler, Griser)

GOAL – Identifying and designating location for feasibility study Presentation was given and robust question and answer session followed. Site location was chosen to be an amended version of site B, block 5 near the water plant. Proposed study location was changed to not be directly behind any houses. After amending the motion to reflect this change a vote was taken

JUDAH KUPER MOTIONS TO VOTE ON MOTION TO APPROVE FEASIBILITY SITE LOCATION AND READS THE MOTION AS FOLLOWS: I MOVE TO APPROVE AUTHORIZING THE SAN MIGUEL POWER ASSOCIATION INC. TO CONDUCT A FEASIBILITY STUDY FOR THE INSTALLATION AND OPERATION OF SOLAR PANEL ARRAY AND BATTERY STORAGE SUBJECT TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING A LAND LEASE OPTION THAT WOULD BE INTRODUCED IN OCTOBER SO

WE CAN ALL TALK ABOUT THIS AGAIN IN OCTOBER AND WE WOULD SEE THE DETAILS AFTER OUR LAWYER STEVE JOHNSON GOES BACK AND FORTH AND WE SEE WHAT THIS RESOLUTION COULD LOOK LIKE IN OCTOBER 2023 GENERAL ASSEMBLY MEETING FOR PROPERTY LOCATED BY THE WATER TREATMENT PLANT IN THE RIGHT HALF OF B BUT ALSO INCLUDING AND THERE'S GOING TO BE SOME RESEARCH THAT HAS TO BE DONE INTO THE LEGALITIES OF IT BUT INCLUDING THE TOWN BOUNDARY THAT WOULD GO ABOVE IT UP TO THE FOREST SERVICE LAND SO DELETING THE PART BEHIND THE HOUSES OF BLOCK 4 BUT ADDING IN UP TO THE BOUNDARY OF 5 THE PORTION THAT IS NOT IN THE AVALANCHE ZONE AND EXCLUDING OPHIR'S WATER TREATMENT PLANT AND YOU HAVE TO FIND OUT EXACTLY WHERE THAT LEECH FIELD IS AND IF IT'S A DIFFERENT TYPE OF LEECH FIELD AND IF IT'S A DIFFERENT TYPE OF LEECH FIELD CAUSE IT DOESN'T HAVE SEWAGE OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT WE GOTTA DO A BIT OF REASEARCH THERE AND JUST THAT AND WE'RE GOING TO DELETE THE BLOCK 10

THE MOTION AS WRITTEN AND DISPLAYED DURING THE MEETING IS AS FOLLOWS: I MOVE TO APPROVE AUTHORIZING THE SAN MIGUEL POWER ASSOCIATION, INC TO CONDUCT A FEASIBILITY STUDY FOR THE INSTALLATION AND OPERATION OF A SOLAR PANEL ARRAY WITH BATTERY STORAGE SUBJECT TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING A LAND LEASE OPTION TO BE INTRODUCED AT THE OCTOBER 2023 GENERAL ASSEMBLY MEETING FOR PROPERTY LOCATED BY WATER TREATMENT PLANT DESCRIBED AS & BLOCK 5 AND ABOVE TO USFS PROPERTY LINE (PORTION THAT IS NOT IN AVALANCE HAZARD ZONE AND EXCLUDING OPHIR'S WATER TREATMENT PLANT)

All in favor (yay): Cara Binkley, Nan Dirkus, Peter Israel, Janice Gerona, Sean McNamara, Miles Heiner, Tyler Simmons, Kylie Mosher, David Callicott, Sarah Callicott, Mark Rosenthal, Mark Rikkers, Corrinne Platt, Kelton Wright, Elias Bahou, Jen Rose, Travers Mitchell, Johnny Gerona, Paul Emrick, Sue Hehir, Tyler Schultz, Matt Williamson, Judah Kuper, Mason Osgood, Sherri Leeper, Jesse Rose, Jacey DuPriest

All not in favor (nay): Marc Campbell, Teri Steinberg, Dave Chew, Allison Kingsley, Bob Kingsley, Randy Barnes, Heather Rosen, Gerry Oyama, Allyn Hart, Ryan Ehlers, Dayna Baer, Larry Rosen, Natalie Fijalkowski, Holly McCarthy

Abstain: Eric Beerman, Daniel Forgrave, Todd Rutledge MOTION PASSES

Minutes prepared by Ben Foster, Town Clerk

7. ADJOURN

Mason motions to adjourn @ 9:55pm

Audio and video recordings of all General Assembly Meetings are available to the public. Please contact the Town Clerk if you would like a copy of this month's audio of the meeting minutes.